|  +1 800 234 5678
Follow us :-

Tibetan Singing Bowl History

About Tibetan Singing Bowl History

Our Philosophy

Learning about Tibetan singing bowl history can be fascinating. Tibetan singing bowls are some of the most mysterious musical instruments that have been identified throughout history.

Select a Tibetan singing bowl that you connect with. Identifying an instrument you connect with will deepen your experience.


Our singing bowls come directly from Nepal, and are instrumental in many uses: yoga, meditation, healing, music, and more.

SK016 (2)

Purpose & Use

Most people use these bowls for Buddhist spiritual meditation. Singing bowls can also provide a great conversation piece. These bowls are handmade and consist of a combination of seven different metals which create seven distinct sound or tones. According to tradition, the seven metals correspond with each of the planets: gold for the sun, silver for the moon, mercury for the well, copper for Venus, iron for Mars, tin for Jupiter, and lead for Saturn.

How to Play Tibetan Singing Bowls: 3 Simple Steps

1. Hold the bowl in the palm of either hand

2. Using the striker, rub the outside rim in a circular motion while keeping an even pressure.

3. Gently increase the speed as the bowl begins to vibrate, and as the sound grows. It may help to tap the bowl to begin the vibration. Sometimes this method can take practice.

NOTE: Another method is “gonging” or “striking” the bowls. This is a method that involves striking the bowl with a wood or paddle striker


Since Tibetan singing bowls have a very mysterious history it is sometimes hard to find information about them. In fact, there is literally no mention of them in the Tibetan Buddhist canon. They can be found in both monasteries and homes. There are rumors that it is actually forbidden for monks to speak about singing bowls.

Some says that the bowls are used by high lamas in secret rituals, which gives them ability to travel to different realms and dimensions. In the end, one thing remains certain: that singing bowls are a very powerful spiritual tool.

7 Metal Bowls

Each bowl includes all seven metals. Inspired Trading Company specializes in hand hammered singing bowls.

We hope you have a pleasant shopping experience. All item listed have a 100% satisfaction guarantee. We have many different items for sale. Please contact us if you have any questions or concerns.

The 7 Chakras

There are 7 chakras which are represented by each of 7 seven different musical notes.

Chakras are the energy located along the middle of the body. Many people use the bowls for chakra and energy healing. We use the traditional chakra method when determining the corresponding chakra for each bowl buy using the dominant note in each bowl. Below is a list of the traditional Chakra system.

1. THE THIRD EYE CHAKRA: It is located in the centre of the forehead. It is associated with intuition, understanding, visualization, and inner vision. Dark Indigo Blue is the color of the third eye chakra and the musical note is A.

2. THE CROWN CHAKRA OR HEAD CHAKRA: It is situated at the top of the head. It is associated with cosmic awareness, highest spirituality, and complete integration with source. Violet is the color of the crown chakra and the musical note is B.

3. THE ROOT CHAKRA: It is also called the first or Base chakra. It is located at the base of the spine. It is associated with issues of survival, ambition, drive, grounding one’s energy in the physical dimension, balancing experiences that create “fight or flight”, and your life forces. Red is the color of the root chakra and its musical note is C.

4. THE SACRAL CHAKRA: It is also called the Second chakra or the Sexual chakra, is positioned in the area between the navel and the pubic bone. Depending on which sources you read, it can be shown to be centered on the navel itself or to be aligned with the sexual organs (ovaries in women and testes in men). It is associated with creativity, relationship, sexuality and reproduction. Orange is the color of the sacral chakra and its musical note is D.

5. THE SOLAR PLEXUS CHAKRA: The plexus or third chakra is located in the midway between the end of the breastbone and the navel. It is associated with issues of personal power, emotion (especially: blocked emotions), passion for living, and the ability to protect oneself from being the target of negative or aggressive emotions. Yellow is the color of the solar plexus chakra and the musical note is E.

6. THE HEART CHAKRA: It is positioned in the centre of the chest, usually shown to be even with the nipple line. The heart is associated with compassion, friendship and ability to give and receive love. Green is the color of the heart chakra and the musical note is F. sometimes the heart chakra is pink, esp. in relation to send love inner from the heart.

7. THE THROAT CHAKRA: This chakra is positioned in the base of throat, and is associated with communication, expression and speaking one’s truth. Azure blue is the color of the throat chakra and its musical note is G.